What is The Football Collective?

The Football Collective is dedicated network of people who wish to bring critical debate to football – for those interested and involved in building football for the future. Through sharp analysis and research informed original reporting, we aim to provide a platform for thought provoking critical debate in football.

Our manifesto is simple:

We are a network bringing critical debate to our game

To achieve this The Football Collective has two main aims:

Aim 1: Deliver high quality events that provide a platform for critical and collegiate support, the dissemination and discussion of research findings, the development of research ideas and the enhancement of collaboration across the collective. See our conference tab for details of past and future events. Our YouTube channel can be found here.

Aim 2: To show case best practice and help share academic peer reviewed research in an accessible and understandable format for all. This includes:

  • Share evidenced based commentary on football issues
  • Disseminate peer reviewed research on football
  • Open debate around key issues in related to football

All research published on The Football Collectives is Edited by the Collective Board. The Collective Board ensures that research contributions are current, relevant, appropriate and ethical, whilst also providing an informal peer review support for contributors.

The Collective Board also plays an influencing role in supporting events for all members based on highlighted interests and needs. To become a member you need to have an active researcher interested in football.

To join The Football Collective as a member please email d.parnell@mmu.ac.uk or p.widdop@leedbeckett.ac.uk.

The Football Collective Editorial Board

Editors

  • Dr Paul Widdop  e: p.widdop@leedsbeckett.ac.uk  t: @Fire_and_Skill
  • Dr Dan Parnell  e: d.parnell@mmu.ac.uk  t: @parnell_daniel

Sociology

  • Dr Peter Millward  e: p.millward@ljmu.ac.uk  t: @PeteMillward79

Policy and Politics

  • Dr Anthony May  e: anythonymay.research@gmail.com  t:  @DrAnthonyMay

Equality and Diversity

  • Dr Jamie Cleland e:   jamie.cleland@unisa.edu.au    t:  @drjamiecleland 

Networks

  • Dr Paul Widdop  e: p.widdop@leedsbeckett.ac.uk  t: @Fire_and_Skill

Business Management

  • Dr Dan Parnell  e: d.parnell@mmu.ac.uk  t: @parnell_daniel

Referee

Performance

  • Professor Barry Drust  e:  B.Drust@ljmu.ac.uk   t:   @BARRYD22

Gender

  • Dr Stacey Pope  e:  stacey.pope@durham.ac.uk  t: @StaceyPope20

Development and Society

  • TBC

Events

  • Dr Joel Rookwood  e: joel.rookwood@solent.ac.uk  t:  @Joelrookwood

Governance

  • Dr Sara Ward  e:  S.Ward@mmu.ac.uk   t:  @DrSWard

Art and Museums

  • Professor John Hughson  e: jehughson@uclan.ac.uk

Political Economy

  • Dr David Webber  e: david.webber@warwick.ac.uk  t:  @DrDaveWebber

Consumer Culture

  • Dr Kevin Dixon   e: Kevin.Dixon@tees.ac.uk    t: @KevinDixon20
  • Jeff McCarthy    e:  jeff.mccarthy@mmu.ac.uk    t: @runeatrepeatuk
Journalism and Media
  • Dr Jonathan Cable   e:   CableJ1@cardiff.ac.uk    t:   @cable_j

Asia and Australia

  • Professor Simon Chadwick  e: S.M.Chadwick@salford.ac.uk  t: @Prof_Chadwick

Europe

  • Dr Mark Doidge  e: m.doidge@brighton.ac.uk  t: @markdoidge

The Football Collective Board Members

Dr Richard Bailey  e: baileyrichard1@me.com  t: @DrDickB

Dr Kathryn Curran  e: K.M.Curran@leedsbeckett.ac.uk  t:  @Kathryn_Curran

Jonathan Sibley  e: J.Sibley@mmu.ac.uk  t:  @Jon_SibleyPhD

Dr John Hayton  e: J.W.Hayton@ljmu.ac.uk

Dr Daniel Fitzpatrick  e: d.fitzpatrick3@aston.ac.uk

Dr Neil King  e: Kingn@edgehill.ac.uk

Dr Alex Bond  e: a.j.bond@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Ed Cope  e: Ed.Cope@hull.ac.uk  t: @EdCope1

Professor Steve Miles  e: S.Miles@mmu.ac.uk

Professor Jean Willams  e:  jwilliam@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Emma Poulton  e: e.k.poulton@durham.ac.uk  t: @DrPoults

Dr Jimmy O’Gorman   e: Ogormanj@edgehill.ac.uk   t: @DrJimmyOGorman

Elena Balcaite  e: ebalcaite@student.unimelb.edu.au  t:  @ElenaBalcaite

Dr Martin J Power  e:  Martin.J.Power@ul.ie

Dr James Carr   e:  James.Carr@ul.ie

Dr Daniel Lock  e:  lockd@bournemouth.ac.uk  t: @Daniel__Lock

Dr Geoff Pearson  e:  geoff.pearson@manchester.ac.uk   t:  @Geoff_Pearson

Dario Brentin   e:  dario.brentin@uni-graz.at   t:  @DarioBrentin

Dr Peter K Kennedy  e: P.K.Kennedy@gcu.ac.uk

Professor Grant Jarvie (Academy of Sport, Edinburgh University)  e: grant.jarvie@ed.ac.uk

Dr Mathias Schubert  e:  schubert.m@uni-mainz.de

Dr David Cutts  e:  D.J.Cutts@bath.ac.uk

Dr Chris Porter  e:  c.porter@mmu.ac.uk

Julian North  e:  J.North@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Professor Garry Crawford   e:  g.crawford@salford.ac.uk    t:  @CultSociologist

Andrew Stevens   e: stevens@jlgc.org.uk   t:  @nachtcities

Dr Christos Anagnostopoulos   e: christos.anagnostopoulos@himolde.no     t: @chrisanago

Dr Gary James   e:  Gary.James@mmu.ac.uk   t:  @GaryJamesWriter

Dr Paul Kitchin    e:  pj.kitchin@ulster.ac.uk

Jonathan Sly    e: jms80@leicester.ac.uk

Dr Borja Garcia    e: B.Garcia-Garcia@lboro.ac.uk    t:  @DrBorjaGarcia

Dr Rod Ling    e: rod.ling@hmri.org.au

Professor Mark James    e:  Mark.James@mmu.ac.uk   t:  @prof_mark_james

Dr Bastian Popp   e:  bastian.popp@gmail.com

Dr Alan Pringle   e: Alan.Pringle@nottingham.ac.uk

Richard Wyatt   e: rnwyatt@uclan.ac.uk   t:  @richardnwyatt .

Dr Benoît Senaux   e: aa9696@coventry.ac.uk   t: @Benoit_Senaux

Dr Thomas Könecke   e:  koenecke@uni-mainz.de

Dr Alan Southern    e:  Alan.Southern@liverpool.ac.uk   t:  @alansouth

Dr Pedro Pablo Cardoso Castro    e: p.p.cardoso-castro@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Alexander Cardenas    e: alexcarmen@yahoo.com

Jens Sejer Andersen   e: jens@playthegame.org   t:   @JensSejerA    @playthegame_org

Susan Jones   e: suejones5@outlook.com

Professor Nick Crossley   e: nicholas.crossley@manchester.ac.uk

Matthew Parry     e:  ParryMJ2@cardiff.ac.uk   t:  @ParryMJ

Alex Fenton     e:  a.fenton@salford.ac.uk   t:  @alexfenton

Gavin Maclean   e:   G.Maclean@napier.ac.uk    t:   @MacleanGavin

Colin Lewis    e:   C.Lewis@2013.ljmu.ac.uk     t:   @ColinLewis1989

Professor Peter Krustrup   e:  pkrustrup@nexs.ku.dk

Jonny Rae   e:   J.Rae@mmu.ac.uk

Francesca Champ   e:   F.Champ@2010.ljmu.ac.uk   t:    @fchamp1

Steve Menary    e:  steve.menary@btinternet.com

Mark Turner    e:   mark.turner@solent.ac.uk    t:  @PhDSafeStanding

Sean Huddleston     e:    sjhuddleston1978@gmail.com    t:   @seanhuddleston2

Tobias Zuser    e: tobias@cultural-desert.com     t:   @duwenzhe

Henrik Brandt    e:  henrik.brandt@idan.dk

Andrew Jennings   e: ajdigging@gmail.com    t:    @AAndrewJennings

Dr Carrie Dunn    e: C.Dunn2@uel.ac.uk     t:     @carriesparkle

Craig Corrigan     e:   c.j.corrigan@wlv.ac.uk    t: @CraigCorrigan81

Les Crang      e:  lcrang01@mail.bbk.ac.uk      t:  @morethanagame66

Alexandra Culvin    e: ACulvin@uclan.ac.uk      t:  @alexculvin

Charles Leyman Kachitsa   e: C.L.Kachitsa@salford.ac.uk    t:  @kachitsa1

David Scott     e:   d.s.scott@wlv.ac.uk    t:    @dscottresearch

Professor Martin Everett   e: martin.everett@manchester.ac.uk

Professor Adam Leaver    t: @AdamLeaver1

David Roberts   e:  D.C.Roberts@mmu.ac.uk   t:  @DavidCRoberts

Professor Alan Tomlinson   w:  http://alantomlinson.typepad.com/  t: @AlanTomlinson1

Becky Easton    e:   beckyeaston16@hotmail.com   t:   @beckyeaston16

Dr Christoph Wagner   e: christoph@anoldinternational.co.uk   t: @wagnerc23

Stephen Morrow    e:  s.h.morrow@stir.ac.uk

Dr Jamie Kenyon    e: J.A.Kenyon@lboro.ac.uk   t: @jayllid

Max Mauro   e: maxmauro@gmail.com  t: @maxmauro10

Elisavet Argyro Manoli   e:  e.a.manoli@lboro.ac.uk

Dr Giambattista Rossi   e: g.rossi@bbk.ac.uk

Darragh McGee   e: D.McGee@bath.ac.uk    t: @DarraghMcGee4

Eddie Rees    e: E.Rees@tees.ac.uk   t: @eddierees17

Dr Andrew Hodges  e: ajhodges22@gmail.com

Dr Susan O’Shea   e:  Susan.OShea@mmu.ac.uk   t: @SOSheaSNA

Leon Davis   e:  leon.davis@northampton.ac.uk   t:   @leon2209

Joel Roberts  e:   joelrobs@yahoo.co.uk   t:    @JoelRobs

James De Mountfort   e:   james@personally-trained.co.uk   t:   @DeMountfort

Jacqueline McAssey    e:    J.McAssey@ljmu.ac.uk    t: @jacquimcassey

Alice Kelk   e: a.kelk@ucfb.come   t: @alicexkelk

David Horrocks   e:  d.horrocks@ucfb.com    t:  @HorrocksDavid

Clarke Carlisle     e: c.carlisle@ucfb.com    t:  @CCforDD

Alan Tonge    e:   A.Tonge@ucfb.com  t:  @Alan_Tonge

Tom Buck    e:   tombuck90@hotmail.co.uk      t: @tombuck90

Laura Bradshaw    e:  L.Bradshaw@lboro.ac.uk    t:   @nasaphd

Sophie Peng    e:  Q.Peng@lboro.ac.uk    t:   @SophiePenglboro

George Just    e:  george_just@hotmail.com   t:   @gjust67

Dr. Frances Harkin    e: fharkin01@qub.ac.uk    t: @Frank11Guinness

Julie Roche    e:   julie.roche5@btinternet.com    t:  @julz5990

Dr Christopher Bunn    e:  Christopher.Bunn@glasgow.ac.uk   t:   @Chris_Bunn

Dr John Beech         e: bsx059@coventry.ac.uk        t: @JohnBeech

Dr Ryan Groom    e: R.Groom@mmu.ac.uk     t:   @r_groom

Rob Carlisle    e:  r.carlisle@chester.ac.uk    t:   @RobCarlisle86

Luke Gibson    e: l.gibson@derby.ac.uk   t:   @LukeGibson87

Rebecca Sawiuk    e:    r.sawiuk@herts.ac.uk     t:  @sav_rk89 

Kyle Ferguson    e:   k.ferguson@ulster.ac.uk   t:   @fergieskykyle

Søren Bennike   e: soren.bennike@nexs.ku.dk    t:  @SBennike  

Alan Byrne    e:   alanbyrnelcfc@icloud.com

Nicole Allison    e:   nicole.allison1@btinternet.com     t:   @NicoleAllison2

Ian MacNeill     e: macneill.1@rsearch.gla.ac.uk     t:   @IanAlexanderMac

Professor Richard Parish    e:  parrishr@edgehill.ac.uk    

Dr Dave McArdle    e:  d.a.mcardle@stir.ac.uk   t:   @davemcardle

Professor Steve Redhead   e:Steve.Redhead@flinders.edu.au    t:   @steveredhead

Matthew Reeves    e:   m.j.reeves@ljmu.ac.uk     t: @MRSportEdu

Professor Matthew Taylor     e: mtaylor@dmu.ac.uk    t:   @matthew_mtaylor

Ashley Jane Lowerson     e:   Ashley.lowerson@sunderland.ac.uk     t:   @AshleyJLowerson

Dr Nick Burton     e:   nburton@brocku.ca    t:    @NF_Burton

Dr Gareth Addidle     e: gareth.addidle@plymouth.ac.uk 

Dr Eleanor Drywood   e:  e.w.drywood@liverpool.ac.uk    t:   @ewdrywood

Dr Kevin Enright     e:   k.j.enright@ljmu.ac.uk

Kevin Rye    e:   kevin.rye@gmail.com

Dr Malte Nejst Larsen    e:  mnlarsen@health.sdu.dk

Seungmin Kang     e:   skang6@lsu.edu 

Associate Professor  Ian Jones    e: jonesi@bournemouth.ac.uk    t:  @ian__jones__

Associate Professor Brent Smith    e: bsmith@sju.edu

Professor Kihan Kim    e:   kimk35@gmail.com

Dr Christopher Huth     e: info@christopher-huth.de     t: @spooek

Dr Alex Krumer     e:   Krumer.alex@gmail.com

Assistant Professor Michael Goldman   e:   mmgoldman@usfca.edu   t:    @michaelmgoldman

Dr Doug Blais     e:   d.blais@snhu.edu      t:   @blais17

Associate Professor Larry McCarthy    e:   mccartla@shu.edu    t: @mccartla

Assistant Professor Clint Warren   e:   cjwarre@ilstu.edu   t:  @Clint_Warren

Assistant Professor David P. Hedlund    e:  hedlundd@stjohns.edu    t: @davidphedlund

Gareth Smith    e: g.a.smith@mmu.ac.uk

Associate Professor Seungbum Lee     e:   sl65@uakron.edu 

Sean Ndebele    e:    bseanndebele@gmail.com    t:   @seanndebele 

Hannes Lepschy   e:   lepschy@live.com

Dr Damian Gallagher   e:   dm.gallagher@ulster.ac.uk    t:   @dm_gallagher

Assistant Professor Thilo Kunkel    e:  thilo.kunkel@temple.edu    t: @thilokunkel

Dr Karl A. Russell       e:    k.russell@mmu.ac.uk

Daniel Green     e:    green@manchesterfa.com    t:     @DanielJ_Green 

Dr Haydn Aarons    e:   aydn.aarons@acu.edu.au           t:   @carringbush10 

Emanuel Leite Jr.    e:   emanuel.leite.junior@ua.pt      t:    @EmanuelLeiteJr

Pauli Loukola            e:   P.P.J.Loukola@edu.salford.ac.uk     t:   @PauliLoukola

Duncan Drasdo      e:   duncan@joinmust.org      t:    @drasdo

Assistant Professor Radosław Kossakowski     e:   radoslaw.kossakowski@ug.edu.pl

Dr. Stephen R. Millar        e:   stephen.r.millar@ul.ie        t: @StephenRMillar 

Neil Graney         e:   neil.graney@durham.ac.uk       t: @Neilg08050      

Stacie Gray     e: J.Gray2@lboro.ac.uk       t: @stacie_gray1

Stuart Whigham     e: swhigham@brookes.ac.uk      t: @StuartWhigham

Lee Darnbrough      e:    ldarnbrough@yahoo.com    t:   @LeeDarnbrough 

Will Roberts    e:    wroberts@brookes.ac.uk      t:   @w_roberts6

Grace Morrison     e:     morrison@plymouth.ac.uk     t: @gracie_baby_85

Sophie Cowell     e:    cowell@chester.ac.uk     t:    @SophieCowell24

Marcelo Pedro Castro-Martinez    e: marcelo.castro@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk     t: @marcelombsdba

Jim O´Brien       e:    jimmojimmo1@gmail.com    t:    @Jimmyboss1234

Associate Professor David Kilpatrick e:   David@newyorkcosmos.com   t:  @DrDKilpatrick

Ian Plenderleith   e:    ianplenderleith@hotmail.com    t:   @PlenderleithIan

Janine Partington  e:   j.p.partington@leedsbeckett.ac.uk    t:    @janinep79

Dr Daniel Haxall    e:    haxall@kutztown.edu

Steve Bullough   e:     s.j.bullough@shu.ac.uk     t:   @SteveBullough

Professor Hallgeir Gammelsaeter    e: Hallgeir.gammelsater@himolde.no

Tom Leeder        e: leeder@uea.ac.uk      t: @tomleeder

Professor Kjetil K. Haugen    e: haugen@himolde.no    t: @haugenk

Birnir Egilsson   e: Birnir.egilsson@himolde.no    t: @BirnirE

Kjell Eriksson (The Editor)  e: kjell.eriksson@idrottsforum.org    t: @idrottsforum

Dr Chanzo Greenidge       e:  chanzo.osei@gmail.com       t:  @CodedArts

Dr Catherine Budd     e: catbudd@googlemail.com     t: @catbudd

Roy Thomson      e: P16213038@my365.dmu.ac.uk    t: @camimp83

Dr Richard Elliott    e:   Richard.elliott@solent.ac.uk     t:    @ssubafootball

Professor Paul Whitty     e:  pwhitty@brookes.ac.uk    t: @paul_whitty

Peter Watson    e:   pjwatson1@sheffield.ac.uk    t:   @pedroelprofesor

Chris  Scudder    e:  christopher_scudder@hotmail.co.uk   t:   @cjscudder

Mike McInnes     e: mike@isoactive.com

Dr Lee McGowan     e:  lee.mcgowan@qut.edu.au      t:  @shugmcgowan

Alan Fisher      e:    alan.fisher@gmx.co.uk       t: @spursblogger

Henry Cooke     e:   contact@lookwhatitmeanstohim.com t: @LWIMTH

 

Photography:

We are pleased to be in association  with Michael Kirkham Photography, who has kindly agreed access to his Urban Goals collection. You can see more of his work here and follow him on Twitter @UrbanGoals